KP PFLEGE · OPEN
Live · Kenntnisprüfung · Nurses and doctors · 7 nursing dates
Kenntnisprüfung in Germany: for nurses (Pflege) and doctors (Ärzte)
The Kenntnisprüfung is the knowledge exam for nurses and doctors trained abroad. For nurses, your state's authority asks for it when your training differs from the German one. Nurses take an oral and a practical part. Doctors take one oral-practical exam in internal medicine and surgery.
Kenntnisprüfung Pflege for nurses
- Parts
- Oral and practical
- Oral part
- 45 to 60 minutes
- Practical part
- 2 to 4 care situations, up to 120 min each
- Retakes
- Each failed part once
You take it when your recognition notice finds substantial differences from German nursing training. You can choose an adaptation course (Anpassungslehrgang) instead: a placement of several months. The exam runs with a nursing school. How you register depends on the state: in Hamburg you register with the authority at least six weeks before; elsewhere ask your authority or the school.
Oral exam dates from IBAF nursing schools in Schleswig-Holstein. Not a list of every Kenntnisprüfung in Germany.
Kenntnisprüfung for doctors (Approbation)
- Subjects
- Internal medicine and surgery
- Format
- Oral-practical, one day, with a patient presentation
- Length in Lower Saxony
- Patient presentation about 60 min, then 60 to 90 min oral exam per candidate, up to 4 in a group
- Retakes
- Two
Until 31 October 2026 you take it for your Approbation when the authority finds substantial differences between your degree and German medical training. It tests medical knowledge, in German. Your language is tested separately, in the Fachsprachprüfung (FSP).
From 1 November 2026: a new federal law makes the Kenntnisprüfung the normal route for doctors with a degree from outside the EU, the EEA and Switzerland. The document-based equivalence check stays available if you ask for it.
Source: bundesgesundheitsministerium.de, checked 20 Oct 2026
No public calendar. The authority or chamber invites you. In Lower Saxony, dates go by waiting list and the wait is currently several months.
Source: nizza.niedersachsen.de, checked 20 Oct 2026
Kenntnisprüfung by state
Nurses (Kenntnisprüfung Pflege)
| State | Who decides | What the official page says | Official page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Baden-Württemberg | Regierungspräsidium Stuttgart | Decides within four months once your papers are complete. You choose the Kenntnisprüfung or an adaptation course when you apply, or after the decision (FAQ dated 19 Apr 2024). | rp.baden-wuerttemberg.de (opens in a new tab) |
| Bayern (Bavaria) | Bayerisches Landesamt für Pflege (LfP), since 1 July 2023 | You choose an adaptation course or the Kenntnisprüfung. | lfp.bayern.de (opens in a new tab) |
| Hamburg | Behörde für Gesundheit, Soziales und Integration | Usually about 300 EUR for the oral part and about 500 EUR for the practical part (as of December 2023). Register at least six weeks before the exam. | hamburg.de (opens in a new tab) |
| Hessen (Hesse) | See the official sheet | Only with a nursing school. Both parts should take place within about a year (sheet dated 8 Nov 2021). | hlfgp.hessen.de (opens in a new tab) |
| Niedersachsen (Lower Saxony) | Niedersächsisches Landesamt für Soziales, Jugend und Familie, Lüneburg | Handles recognition for Pflegefachfrau, Pflegefachmann and Pflegefachperson. | soziales.niedersachsen.de (opens in a new tab) |
| Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW) | ZAG-PuG, Bezirksregierung Münster | An oral and a practical part. Each failed part may be repeated once. | brms.nrw.de (opens in a new tab) |
| Schleswig-Holstein | Your recognition authority | IBAF nursing schools publish oral exam dates in Lübeck, Norderstedt and Rendsburg; Neumünster on request. | ibaf.de (opens in a new tab) |
Baden-Württemberg
- Who decides
- Regierungspräsidium Stuttgart
- What the official page says
- Decides within four months once your papers are complete. You choose the Kenntnisprüfung or an adaptation course when you apply, or after the decision (FAQ dated 19 Apr 2024).
- Official page
- rp.baden-wuerttemberg.de (opens in a new tab)
Bayern (Bavaria)
- Who decides
- Bayerisches Landesamt für Pflege (LfP), since 1 July 2023
- What the official page says
- You choose an adaptation course or the Kenntnisprüfung.
- Official page
- lfp.bayern.de (opens in a new tab)
Hamburg
- Who decides
- Behörde für Gesundheit, Soziales und Integration
- What the official page says
- Usually about 300 EUR for the oral part and about 500 EUR for the practical part (as of December 2023). Register at least six weeks before the exam.
- Official page
- hamburg.de (opens in a new tab)
Hessen (Hesse)
- Who decides
- See the official sheet
- What the official page says
- Only with a nursing school. Both parts should take place within about a year (sheet dated 8 Nov 2021).
- Official page
- hlfgp.hessen.de (opens in a new tab)
Niedersachsen (Lower Saxony)
- Who decides
- Niedersächsisches Landesamt für Soziales, Jugend und Familie, Lüneburg
- What the official page says
- Handles recognition for Pflegefachfrau, Pflegefachmann and Pflegefachperson.
- Official page
- soziales.niedersachsen.de (opens in a new tab)
Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW)
- Who decides
- ZAG-PuG, Bezirksregierung Münster
- What the official page says
- An oral and a practical part. Each failed part may be repeated once.
- Official page
- brms.nrw.de (opens in a new tab)
Schleswig-Holstein
- Who decides
- Your recognition authority
- What the official page says
- IBAF nursing schools publish oral exam dates in Lübeck, Norderstedt and Rendsburg; Neumünster on request.
- Official page
- ibaf.de (opens in a new tab)
Other states: find your authority in the Anerkennungs-Finder on anerkennung-in-deutschland.de (opens in a new tab).
More states as we check them. Checked 20 Oct 2026.
Doctors (Kenntnisprüfung Ärzte)
| State or chamber area | Fee | Stated wait | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| Baden-Württemberg | Not stated | Usually four to five months | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Bavaria (Bayern) | Up to €1,200 | One to six months after referral | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Berlin | Not stated | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Brandenburg | €799 | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Bremen | Not stated | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Hamburg | Not stated | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Hesse (Hessen) | €1350 | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Lower Saxony (Niedersachsen) | €980 | Several months (waiting list) | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania | Not stated | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| North Rhine (Ärztekammer Nordrhein) | €1050 | Scheduled individually | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Rhineland-Palatinate | Not stated | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Saarland | Not stated | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Saxony (Sachsen) | Not stated | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Saxony-Anhalt | Not stated | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Schleswig-Holstein | €400 first attempt, €750 repeat | About 12 months on average (page dated March 2024) | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Thuringia (Thüringen) | Not stated | Not stated | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
| Westphalia-Lippe (Ärztekammer Westfalen-Lippe) | €1050 | Scheduled individually | FSP and Kenntnisprüfung guide → |
Baden-Württemberg
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Usually four to five months
Bavaria (Bayern)
- Fee
- Up to €1,200
- Stated wait
- One to six months after referral
Berlin
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Brandenburg
- Fee
- €799
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Bremen
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Hamburg
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Hesse (Hessen)
- Fee
- €1350
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Lower Saxony (Niedersachsen)
- Fee
- €980
- Stated wait
- Several months (waiting list)
Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Not stated
North Rhine (Ärztekammer Nordrhein)
- Fee
- €1050
- Stated wait
- Scheduled individually
Rhineland-Palatinate
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Saarland
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Saxony (Sachsen)
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Saxony-Anhalt
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Schleswig-Holstein
- Fee
- €400 first attempt, €750 repeat
- Stated wait
- About 12 months on average (page dated March 2024)
Thuringia (Thüringen)
- Fee
- Not stated
- Stated wait
- Not stated
Westphalia-Lippe (Ärztekammer Westfalen-Lippe)
- Fee
- €1050
- Stated wait
- Scheduled individually
Fees and waits from each chamber's official page, checked 17 Oct 2026. Some pages carry an older date, shown in the cell. North Rhine and Westphalia-Lippe share one statewide Kenntnisprüfung.
Last checked 51 min ago
Get an email when a new Kenntnisprüfung Pflege date appears
New dates from IBAF nursing schools in Schleswig-Holstein.
Kenntnisprüfung Pflege and Ärzte, explained
What is the Kenntnisprüfung?
A state knowledge exam for nurses and doctors trained abroad. Today your recognition authority asks for it when it finds substantial differences between your training and the German one; for doctors with a degree from outside the EU, the EEA and Switzerland it becomes the normal route on 1 November 2026. Nurses take an oral and a practical part. Doctors take an oral-practical exam with a patient presentation.
Source: gesetze-im-internet.de, checked 20 Oct 2026
What is the German nursing exam called?
People mean one of two exams. One German language exam built for nurses is telc Deutsch B1·B2 Pflege. The exam that tests your nursing knowledge is the Kenntnisprüfung Pflege, for nurses trained outside the EU whose training differs from the German one.
Source: telc.net and gesetze-im-internet.de, checked 20 Oct 2026
What happens in the Kenntnisprüfung Pflege?
In the oral part you work through a case that covers at least three competence areas; it lasts 45 to 60 minutes. In the practical part you care for patients in 2 to 4 care situations, up to 120 minutes each. Your authority sets the number of situations.
Source: gesetze-im-internet.de, checked 20 Oct 2026
How much does the Kenntnisprüfung Pflege cost?
There is no national price. Hamburg's information sheet (May 2026) says it usually costs about 300 EUR for the oral part and about 500 EUR for the practical part, as of December 2023. The nursing school that runs the exam sends the invoice. Other states can differ.
Source: hamburg.de, checked 20 Oct 2026
Kenntnisprüfung or adaptation course (Anpassungslehrgang)?
You choose one of the two. The adaptation course is a placement of several months in a hospital, care home or home-care service. The Kenntnisprüfung covers the oral and practical parts of the state exam, and many nurses take a preparation course of several months first.
Source: rp.baden-wuerttemberg.de, checked 20 Oct 2026
What does the Kenntnisprüfung for doctors test?
Internal medicine and surgery, with questions that also touch emergency medicine, clinical pharmacology, imaging, radiation protection and medical law. You first present a patient (about 60 minutes in Lower Saxony), then take part in an oral-practical exam of 60 to 90 minutes per candidate, with up to four candidates. It takes place on one day.
Source: gesetze-im-internet.de, checked 20 Oct 2026
How much does the Kenntnisprüfung for doctors cost?
It depends on the state. Lower Saxony: 980 EUR, paid in advance, with the Approbation fee on top. Hesse: 1,350 EUR. North Rhine-Westphalia: 1,050 EUR. Brandenburg: 799 EUR. The table above lists every state we checked.
Source: nizza.niedersachsen.de and the chamber pages, checked 17 to 20 Oct 2026
How long is the wait for the doctors' Kenntnisprüfung?
It depends on the state. In Lower Saxony dates go by waiting list, and the wait is currently several months. Baden-Württemberg states usually four to five months. Bavaria states one to six months after referral.
Source: nizza.niedersachsen.de and the chamber pages, checked 17 to 20 Oct 2026
Can I retake the Kenntnisprüfung?
Nurses repeat only what they failed, once: the oral part, or each care situation they did not pass. Doctors repeat the whole exam, up to two times.
Source: gesetze-im-internet.de, checked 20 Oct 2026
What changes for doctors on 1 November 2026?
A new federal law makes the Kenntnisprüfung the normal route for doctors, dentists and pharmacists with a degree from outside the EU, the EEA and Switzerland. The document-based equivalence check stays available if you ask for it.
Source: bundesgesundheitsministerium.de, checked 20 Oct 2026